Being accused of any crime in Arizona should be taken very seriously, no matter the nature of the crime. If you are looking to go through the criminal process in Arizona, it is important to have as much information as possible about the process. For instance, most people are aware that crimes are broken down into misdemeanors and felonies. This is true in the vast majority of states, Arizona included. However, Arizona also has special designations for state felony charges. According to the State of Arizona, felonies are broken into dangerous and non-dangerous categories.
In reality, this is merely one way that Arizona chooses to break its felonies down. In addition to having dangerous and non-dangerous categories, Arizona also takes into consideration whether or not it is a first time or repeat offense. A so-called “dangerous” felony will involve violent crime. Examples of dangerous felonies include murder, manslaughter, dangerous crimes against children, sexual assault, sexual conduct with a child under age 15, kidnapping, and child prostitution.
Even in the event of a non-dangerous felony charge, the minimum sentencing in Arizona is 90 days. In the event that the felony is a first offense and non-dangerous, there is also the possibility for probation as opposed to being in jail.
In addition to having dangerous and non-dangerous categories, there are also six different classes of felony in Arizona. These are designated numerically from 1 to 6. Class 1 felonies are the most serious and are limited to first- and second-degree murder. A Class 6 felony involves possession of marijuana or theft of property that is worth more than $1,000.