Arizona is one of the toughest states regarding DUI laws. It is illegal to drive a vehicle if you are under the influence of any liquor, drug or a vapor releasing substance that will render you intoxicated. If you are driving a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Level of .08% or higher, you may end up with a DUI charge. Additionally, if you are driving while impaired or under the influence of any amount of drugs, you may also face a DUI charge. This includes illegal drugs, over the counter medications, and even legal prescriptions.
According to Arizona statute 28-1381, a first offense DUI falls under a Class 1 misdemeanor. The punishment for a first time offense is one or more of the following penalties.
- A jail sentence of anywhere between 10 days and six months. The judge may decide to suspend up to nine of those days.
- A fine between $250 and $2,500
- Three years of probation
- Community service
- A driver’s license suspension of 90 up to 360 days
- The installation of an alcohol detection device to your vehicle’s ignition
- Alcohol or drug education classes
- Alcohol or drug assessment
Many things can help you receive better odds in when it comes to your DUI sentencing. You may dispute the suspension of your license as part of a DUI defense claim, for example. Additionally, you may choose to install an alcohol detection system in your vehicle, even if it is not required by the judge, to get your license back. Keep in mind that any DUI conviction will remain on your record for seven years, regardless of the severity of the penalties you receive.