Overcoming Today’s Obstacles
For A Better Tomorrow
Help When You Are Facing Harsh DUI Penalties
A DUI arrest can happen to anyone. Arizona has strict no tolerance laws that can result in arrests and serious charges for any blood alcohol content above 0.08 percent. For some people, this is just one to two drinks in a short time frame. For others, it can be hard to gauge how much they have over an evening before they get behind the wheel.
Our team at Padish Law Group, PLLC, has years of experience working with DUI cases to ensure your rights were upheld during the traffic stop and arrest and while being processed at the jail. Our attorneys are former judges who understand what the other side is thinking and know how to combat their legal strategies against you. We have worked in all court departments which gives us a unique perspective for strategizing on cases.
What Is A DUI?
Driving under the influence charges can occur from any influence that impairs your judgment. This can include prescription medicine used improperly, illegal drugs or alcohol. These charges can be more severe if you have previous traffic charges or a criminal record or if your child or another minor is in the vehicle.
In most instances, a police officer will conduct a traffic stop because you made a mistake while driving or there is some other suspicious activity. If they see evidence that you are impaired, they can conduct sobriety tests or arrest you. The DUI charges will later be dismissed or convicted in front of a judge.
What Are The Penalties Of DUI?
Arizona has three main levels of a DUI. The penalties become more severe with multiple DUI offenses, or if the level of impairment was significantly higher. The specific penalties include:
Impaired/Standard – Blood alcohol above 0.08 during a first or second DUI offense
- Ten to 90 days in jail or home detention
- $1,500 to $4,000 in fines and jail costs
- Screening, counseling and 90-day to one-year license suspension
- Interlock device on your car for one year and 30 hours of community service
Extreme – Blood alcohol above 0.15 during a first or second DUI offense
- 30-120 days spent in jail, though some people may be eligible for home detention
- $2,500 to $4,000 in fines, jail costs and monitoring fees
- Mandatory interlock device, screening, counseling and possibly community service
- License suspension for three months to one year
Super Extreme – Blood alcohol above 0.20 during a first or second DUI offense
- Jail time of 45-180 days; in some cases, this can be served under house arrest
- Fines of $3,000 to $5,000
- Alcohol or drug counseling, screening, interlock device for over a year and license suspension
- 30 months of community service in some cases
Finding Creative Strategies In Complex Cases
Our attorneys serve Scottsdale residents with empathic approaches and sound legal guidance. We are passionate about our strong ability to help others, interpret nuanced elements of the law and demand attention for our clients.